RaidTunes: A Black and Bitter Stain

Sorry for the late post, guys.  Don’t blame me, blame finals.  But I did promise you Amon Amarth, didn’t I?  In honor of their absolutely SUPERB new album, Surtur Rising, the Viking Death Metal (yes that is a genre) band makes up this week’s entire Heavy playlist!

Heavy: Amon Amarth – War of the Gods

Doesn’t this song just make you want to lay into something with a big axe?  Seriously, if War of the Gods can wake me up at 5:30 in the morning, it can get you energized for a raid.  Barely restrained passion is layered over melodic riffs, producing an intense, raidable (this is a word now) song.

Also Featured:

Amon Amarth – Slaves of Fear

An anti-religious viking death metal song?  It’s like they were looking for an excuse to make me love them more!  If you’re not the anti-religious type, just pretend they’re singing about the Old Gods and Cho’gall.  It fits.

Amon Amarth – Pursuit of Vikings

An empowering song with a driving, repetitive rhythm.  A great “serious time” song.

Amon Amarth – No Fear for the Setting Sun

Desperation and determination are just oozing out of this song.  It’s just the thing you need to get your nose back to the grindstone for those last few attempts of the night.

Light: Bomberman 64 – Green Garden Theme

As recommended by my star Enhancement Shammy and all-around righteous dude, Delrof (find his awesome comic here.)  A nice  light tune with a strong melody that tickles just the right nostalgia spot for me.  It almost makes me feel like my mace is giving out kisses instead of traumatic brain injury when I listen to this while tanking.

Also Featured:

Electric Six – I Buy The Drugs

An upbeat, bouncy rhythm to keep you on a roll.  Unless it’s a faceroll.  Hell, even if it’s a faceroll.

Brad Sucks – Dropping Out of School

This song is one of resignation.  It’s a big “aaaaah, fuck it” to the world.  Dropping Out of School might not be your cup of tea, but I find it keeps my mood just light enough to let the small things slide.

Emiliana Torrini – Sunny Road

Emiliana Torrini is one of those  artists like Amon Amarth and Florence + The Machine that I absolutely adore. She has a style that is very much her own, though the tone and even instrumentation of her songs is widely varried.  Sunny Road is a gentle, plucky tune, great for ending the night to.

Light Playlist

 Heavy Playlist

~ by Andy/Betancore on April 6, 2011.

Leave a comment